‚ÄčLeadership Team 2016-17 Session   


Sacramento, California ____  Assembly Republican Leader Chad Mayes, of Yucca Valley, announced his leadership team for the 2016-17 legislative session, selecting a group of Assembly Republican Caucus members from across California.

“Building on a legacy of strong Republican leadership, I am humbled and excited to begin serving as the new Assembly Republican Leader alongside my colleagues on the Leadership Team. Each of them are dynamic and forward-thinking leaders, representing diverse areas of the State, and I look forward to working with them to shape a better California.”

The following individuals were named today by Mayes to leadership positions:

Assistant Republican Leader: Assembly Member Kristin Olsen, Modesto

Assistant Republican Leader: Assembly Member Frank Bigelow, O’Neals 

Assistant Republican Leader: Assembly Member Jay Obernolte, Big Bear Lake

The Assistant Republican Leaders will work closely with members and staff to identify and recommend options to maximize caucus opportunities. Additionally, this position regularly communicates with community leaders and people throughout California on key legislative issues and Party matters.  

Republican Caucus Chair: Assembly Member Brian Jones, Santee

The Republican Caucus Chair assists the Leader in overseeing caucus operations, advancing the Republican policy agenda, and achieving the Caucus’ goals.  

Republican Floor Leader: Assembly Member Marie Waldron, Escondido

The Republican Floor Leader works with her Democrat counterpart to help ensure smooth floor operations and parliamentary procedure during Assembly session. The Floor Leader also works with the Leader and Whips to develop and implement strategies that will allow key policy measures to receive full and fair consideration during legislative debate.

Deputy Republican Floor Leader: Assembly Member Bill Brough, Dana Point

The Deputy Republican Floor Leader works closely with the Republican Floor Leader, helping to ensure smooth and effective floor operations during Assembly session. 

Chief Republican Whip: Assembly Member James Gallagher, Nicolaus The Chief Republican Whip works with the Leader and Floor Leader to devise legislative floor strategy and provide direction and guidance to the Republican Whips and members as they work to advance the Republican Caucus' positions during Assembly floor sessions.

Deputy Republican Whip: Assembly Member Ling Ling Chang, Diamond Bar

Deputy Republican Whip: Assembly Member Beth Gaines, Roseville

Republican Whips are charged with mobilizing member votes on important legislation, acting as a liaison between members and leadership, and helping to coordinate strategy within the Caucus.